Training Faculty

The faculty of the Texas Consortium in Behavioral Neuroscience comprises highly qualified researchers from five Texas universities, employing a wide variety of state-of-the-art methodologies. The training faculty is actively engaged in behavioral neuroscience research, participates in pre and postdoctoral training, and is committed to increasing diversity.

Director: 

Francisco Gonzalez-Lima, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
The University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station A8000
Austin, TX  78712
(512) 471-5895
(512) 471-1073 fax
gonzalez-lima@mail.utexas.edu
http://www.utexas.edu/cola/depts/psychology/faculty/fg

Coordinator:

Erika Lima, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
The University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station A8000
Austin, TX  78712
(512) 471-1068
(512) 471-1073 fax
lima@mail.utexas.edu

http://www.erikalima.com

External Advisory Committee:

Eddie Castaneda, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ  85287-1104
(480) 965-2265, (480) 324-6508 cell
eddie.c@asu.edu

Gladys Escalona de Motta, Ph.D
Chancellor, University of Puerto Rico
Rio Piedras Campus
P.O. Box  23300
San Juan, PR 00931-3300
(787) 751-4166 (direct)
(787) 764-0000 ext. 2428
(787) 764-8799 fax
GEdeMotta@aol.com

J.C. de la Torre, MD, PhD
Case Western Reserve University
1363 Shily, Suite 100
Escondido, CA 92026
(760)  743-7441
(760) 747-3313 fax
jcdelatorre@comcast.net

James G. Townsel, Ph.D.
Meharry Medical College
Department of Physiology
1005 DS Todd Blvd
Nashville, TN  37208
(615) 327-6847
(615) 327-6179 fax
jtownsel@mail.mmc.edu
https://www.mmc.edu/research/index.html

University of Texas at Austin

Institutional Coordinator and Faculty:
Francisco Gonzalez-Lima, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
The University of Texas as Austin
1 University Station A8000
Austin, TX  78712
471-5895, 475-8497
471-1073 fax
gonzalez-lima@mail.utexas.edu
http://www.psy.utexas.edu/psy/FACULTY/Gonzalez-Lima/Gonzalez-Lima.html

Training Faculty

David P. Crews, Ph.D.
Department of Zoology
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX  78712
(512) 471-1804
(512) 471-6078 fax
crews@mail.utexas.edu
http://www.utexas.edu/research/crewslab/

Yvon Delville, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
The University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station A8000
Austin, TX  78712
(512) 232-5731
delville@psy.utexas.edu

Michael Domjan, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
The University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station A8000
Austin, TX  78712
(512)  471-7702
domjan@psy.utexas.edu

Rueben Gonzales, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology
College of Pharmacy
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX  78712
(512) 471-5192
(512) 475-6088 fax
rgonzales@mail.utexas.edu
http://www.utexas.edu/pharmacy/divisions/pharmtox/faculty/gonzales.html 

Daniel Johnston, Ph.D.
Center for Learning & Memory
The University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station C-7000
Austin TX 78712
512-475-7905
512-475-8000
djohnston@mail.ns.utexas.edu
http://www.utexas.edu/neuroscience

Theresa Jones, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
The University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station A8000
Austin, TX  78712
(512)  232-1814
tj@psy.utexas.eduhttp://www.utexas.edu/cola/psychology/faculty/jonest10

Timothy J Schallert, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
The University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station A8000
Austin, TX  78712
(512) 471-6141
(512) 232-4335
tschallert@mail.utexas.edu

University of Texas San Antonio

Institutional Coordinator and Faculty:

Joe Martinez, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
University of Texas at San Antonio
6900 North Loop 1604 W
San Antonio, TX  78249-0662
(210) 458-4279
(210) 458-7846 fax
JMartinez@utsa.edu\
http://www.bio.utsa.edu/faculty/jmartinez.html

Training Faculty:

Edwin Barea-Rodriguez
Univ Texas San Antonio
Div Life Sci
6900 N Loop 1604 West
San Antonio TX 78249
210-458-5481
210-458-7498 fax
ebarea@utsa.edu

Brian Derrick, Ph.D.
Department of Neurobiology
University of Texas at San Antonio
6900 North Loop 1604 W
San Antonio, TX  78249-0662
Voice (210) 458-4279
Fax  (210) 458-7846
(210) 458-5661
(210) 691-5658 fax
BDerrick@utsa.edu
http://www.bio.utsa.edu/faculty/derrick.html

University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio

Institutional Coordinator and Faculty:

Jack L. Lancaster, Ph.D.
Research Imaging Ctr. MSC 6240
University of Texas Health Sciences Center San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, TX  78229-3900
(210) 567-8100
(210) 567-8152
jlancaster@uthscsa.edu
http://ric.uthscsa.edu/personalpages/lancaste/

Training Faculty:

Peter T. Fox, M.D.
Research Imaging Ctr. MSC 6240
University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, TX  78229-3900
(210) 567-8150
(210) 567-8152
fox@uthscsa.edu

David Glahn, M.D.
Department of Psychiatry
University of Texas Health Sciences Center San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, TX  78229-3900
(210)
Glahn@uthscsa.edu

Julie Hensler, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology
University of Texas Health Sciences Center San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Dr. –MC 7764
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
(210) 567-4200
(210) 567-4300 fax
HENSLER@UTHSCSA.EDU

David Morilak, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology
University of Texas Health Sciences Center San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Dr. –MC 7764
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
(210) 567-4200
(210) 567-4300 fax
MORILAK@UTHSCSA.EDU
http://www.uthscsa.edu/faculty/morilak.html

Holly Van Remmen, Ph.D.
Cellular and Structural Biology
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies
Mail Code 7755
15355 Lambda Drive
San Antonio, Texas 78245-3207
(210) 562-6141
(210) 562-6110 fax
VANREMMEN@uthscsa.edu
http://www.uthscsa.edu/csb/faculty/vanremmen.asp
http://www.barshop.uthscsa.edu/CoreOxStress.html

Texas A&M University

Institutional Coordinator and Faculty:

Jim Grau, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX  77843
(979) 845-2584
(979) 845-4727 fax
J-GRAU@tamu.edu
http://graulab.tamu.edu/J-Grau/J-Grau.html 

Training Faculty:

Antonio Cepeda-Benito, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX  77843
(979) 845-2573
(979) 845-4727 fax
ACepeda@tamu.edu
http://behav-cell-neurosci.tamu.edu/Cepeda-Benito.htm

Mary W. Meagher, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology
Coke Street, Mail Stop 4235
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX  77843-4235
(979) 845-2564
(979) 845-4727 fax
m-meagher@tamu.edu
http://meagherlab.tamu.edu/

Texas A&M University System Health Science Center

Institutional Coordinator and Faculty

William H. Griffith, Ph.D.
Professor and Head
Department of Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics (NExT)
College of Medicine
Texas A&M Health Science Center
College Station, TX 77843-1114
(979) 845-4991
(979) 845-0790 fax
GRIFFITH@medicine.tamhsc.edu
http://medicine.tamhsc.edu/faculty/next/william-griffith.html 

Training Faculty:

Gerald D. Frye, Ph.D.
Joseph H. Shelton Professor of Neuropharmacol. & Neurotoxicol.
Dept. Neurosci. & Experimental Therapeutics (NExT)
Texas A&M Health Sciences Center
371 Reynolds Bldg. (1114)
College Station, TX 77843-1114
(979)845-2888; FAX (979)845-0790
GDFRYE@medicine.tamhsc.edu
http://medicine.tamhsc.edu/faculty/next/gerald-frye/index.html

Rajesh C. Miranda, Ph.D.
Texas A&M Health Sciences Center
Department Human Anatomy and Medical Neurobiology
142C Reynolds Medical Bldg
College Station, TX 77843-1114
(979) 862-3418
(979) 845-0790
miranda@medicine.tamhsc.edu
http://medicine.tamhsc.edu/faculty/next/rajesh-miranda.html

Mendell Rimer, Ph.D.
Department of Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics (NExT)
College of Medicine
Texas A&M Health Science Center
College Station, TX 77843-1114
(979) 845-4991
(979) 845-0790 fax
MJRimer@medicine.tamhsc.edu
http://medicine.tamhsc.edu/faculty/next/mendell-rimer.html

Farida Sohrabji, Ph.D.
Department of Human Anatomy and Medical Neurobiology
Texas A&M Health Science Center
College Station, TX 77843
(979) 845-4072
(979) 845-0790 fax
SOHRABJI@medicine.tamhsc.edu
http://medicine.tamhsc.edu/faculty/next/farida-sohrabji.html

Ursula H. Winzer-Serhan, Ph.D.
Department Neuroscience & Experimental Therapeutics (NExT)
Texas A&M Health Science Center
College Station, TX 77843-1114
(979) 845-2860
(979) 845-0699 fax
uwserhan@medicine.tamhsc.edu
http://medicine.tamhsc.edu/faculty/next/ursula-winzer.htm