Texas Consortium in Behavioral Neuroscience

Training Program

The Texas Consortium in Behavioral Neuroscience, a training program sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, is the first regional training program designed to increase the quality and quantity of behavioral neuroscientists from underrepresented populations in science, such as individuals from disadvantaged ethnic and/or socioeconomic groups and individuals with disabilities.

Since 2002, predoctoral and postdoctoral trainees are intensively prepared to conduct high quality research in behavioral neuroscience relevant to the missions of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), National Institute of Drug Abuse (NIDA), and National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS).

The Texas Consortium includes these universities:
University of Texas at Austin
University of Texas at San Antonio
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Texas A&M University
Texas A&M Health Science Center

Training faculty:
Carefully selected neuroscientists with demonstrated desire, knowledge and experience to serve as first-rate mentors and advisors of trainees from underrepresented populations provide direction to this program. The Texas Consortium training faculty include:  Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, Antonio Cepeda-Benito, David Crews, Yvon Delville, Brian Derrick, Michael Domjan, Gerald Frye, Peter Fox, David Glahn, Rueben Gonzales, Francisco Gonzalez-Lima, Jim Grau, Bill Griffith, Julie Hensler, Theresa Jones, Dan Johnston, Jack Lancaster, Joe Martinez, Rajesh Miranda, Mary Meagher, David Morilak, Jack Nation, Mendell Rimer, Tim Schallert, Farida Sohrabji, Holly Van Remmen, Ursula Winzer-Serhan.

Training spans state-of-the-art approaches to basic and translational research on brain and behavior, including brain metabolic mapping of behavioral functions, neuropharmacology, neuroimaging, and electrophysiology.  The program also emphasizes research integrity and the development of professional skills, such as grant writing, making oral presentations, and the art of networking.

The Texas Consortium in Behavioral Neuroscience uses national and regional strategies to recruit predoctoral and postdoctoral minority students, and seeks to increase their success not only by providing successful minority faculty as role models, but also by offering enrichment activities and creating a responsive and supportive learning environment that encourages intellectual interaction.


  • Predoctoral applicants: U.S. citizenship or permanent residency and full-time enrollment in a doctoral program at one of the Texas Consortium institutions.
Please see Predoctoral Fellowship application form at this link.
  • Postdoctoral applicants: U.S. citizenship or permanent residency, a doctoral degree at the time of appointment, and 0-1 year of postdoctoral experience.  To ensure diversity, applications from all eligible candidates are encouraged.
Please see Postdoctoral Fellowship application form at this link.
  • For additional information, please contact:
    Erika G. Lima, Ph.D., Program Coordinator
    Department of Psychology, University of Texas at Austin
    1 University Station A8000, Austin, TX 78712
    Voice (512) 471-1068; fax (512) 471-1073
    Email:  lima@mail.utexas.edu